Republic of Cyprus Emblem
Department of Forests

Rural Development and Forests


With the accession of Cyprus to the “European Union” (EU), from May 1st, 2004 as a full member, new rights are starting, but also new obligations, for our State- Republic of Cyprus - and for all physical and legal persons belonging thereto.
One of these rights is our participation in the Rural Development Programme, which aims to improve the standard of living of our people, by funding together, European Union (community resources) and Republic of Cyprus (national resources), with percentages, formerly, 50%-50%, during the economic crisis, namely, the immediately previous years, 85%-15% and now, with the implementation of the new Rural Development Programme 2014 – 2020, 53%-47%, respectively, several related projects, aiming to achieve the following defined objectives:

  • Improving the competitiveness of agriculture and forestry by supporting restructuring,
  • Improving the environment and in particular the countryside, by supporting land-planning management,
  • Improving the quality of life in rural areas, by encouraging and supporting the diversification of economic activities in the people who live in rural areas.

Cooperating Authorities-Rural Development Staff Structure

For the Organization, the preparation, planning, execution and payment to various applicants/investors of projects for rural development programme are cooperating the three Authorities below:

(a) Managing Authority of Rural Development Programme (MARDP) which, until November 30, 2014 was composed by officers of the Department of Agriculture, chaired by the Director of the Department. Until the completion of the Rural Development Plan 2004-2006 and of the Rural Development Programme 2007-2013, the Department of Agriculture will have relationship, responsibility and talk on the object, in cooperation with the new composition of Managing Authority of Rural Development Program (MARDP). From December 1st, 2014, as regards the new rural development programme 2014-2020, the managing authority for the rural development programme is subject directly to the Ministry of Agriculture, Rural Development and Environment , chaired by the Director General of the Ministry and, Chief, senior officer at the Ministry. For the management and distribution of community and national resources, competence is the independent body.

(b) Cyprus Agricultural Payments Organisation (CAPO). However, for faster and better results (management, implementation and control of certain specialized works), the CAPO commissioned-by written agreement-certain competencies, in seven (7) Delegated Bodies, namely, Partners of CAPO (Ministries, departments and services).

(c) The Department of Forests, as one of the Delegated Bodies for the implementation of that competence - founded, organized and staffed, since 2004 the Rural Development Programme Implementation Unit (RDPIU), of the Department of forests, composed by two (2) full-time Officers and nine (9) part-time Officers on the object.

Objectives of Rural Development

The common agricultural policy in the 27 (after the exit of the United Kingdom) Member States of the European Union, is based on two Pillars as below:
  • Direct payments to farmers and the single common market organization,
  • Rural Development.

The policy of rural development, is fully in line with the strategy Europe 2020, with an emphasis on climate change, the environment and innovation. The three main objectives of the common agricultural policy are:
  • Sustainable food production,
  • Sustainable management of natural resources,
  • The balanced development of rural areas.

The Rural Development Programme, renewed every seven (7) years, with predefined objects, actions, expectations and objectives, with vision and perspective, always improving the quality of life in the countryside.

Participations in the Rural Development Programme

The Republic of Cyprus participated in the Rural Development Plan 2004-2006 and in the Rural Development Programme 2007-2013. Now, participates in the Rural Development Programme 2014-2020.

User Satisfaction Survey

Complaints Submission Form